top of page
Banner_Music Series_4x.png

The Music Series features virtuosos from Southern California performing repertoire favorites and music by living composers. The concert will take place in the Brand Library Recital Hall. Admission is free and seating is limited. 

Sponsored by the Brand Associates. Please note: Music Series concerts will be held on Saturday afternoons.


Date: Saturday, February 24, 2024

Time: 2:00pm

Location: Brand Library Recital Hall

48 St. Stephen, comprised of violinist Clara Kim and pianist Angela Kim, is recognized as one of today’s leading ensembles for their colorful virtuosity and vigor. Deeply committed to a meaningful creative process, the duo curates musical experiences for performers and listeners alike that are unique to that time and space. From intimate living rooms of local retirement communities to major concert halls, 48 St. Stephen share their threaded narratives with audiences nationwide. Both members of the group are also passionate educators constantly sharing their knowledge with the next generation of musicians, creators, and thinkers. The duo actively collaborates with leading universities and music institutes across the United States, and in 2024, they will hold residencies at California State Long Beach, Southern Illinois University Edwardsville, Washington University, and Vanderbilt University.

Sonata No. 1 for violin and piano (1958) by George Walker (1922 - 2018)
say it in your heart, say it in your sleep for solo piano by Leilehua Lanzilotti (b. 1983)

ko'u inoa for solo violin by Leilehua Lanzilotti (b. 1983)
Cocci di tempo (2023) by Christopher Stark (b. 1980)*
*This commission has been made possible by the Chamber Music America Classical Commissioning Program, with generous funding provided by The Mellon Foundation.

Deux Morceaux by Lili Boulanger (1893-1918)

I. Nocturne

II. Cortège 

48 St. Stephen


Date: Saturday, April 13, 2024

Time: 2:00pm

Location: Brand Library Recital Hall

Known for their unique and exciting interpretations, Los Angeles-based Elixir Piano Trio has dazzled audiences with their energy and sensitivity. The trio comprises Lucy Nargizyan on piano, Samvel Chilingarian on violin, and Fang Fang Xu on cello. Founded in 2004, the dynamic ensemble performs both traditional and modern repertoire with classical, folk, and jazz influences and has become instrumental in promoting works by Contemporary composers. Winner of the Most Distinguished Musician award 2005 IBLA International Competition in Italy, Elixir Piano Trio has appeared in performances in Europe, Mexico and the United States.

Trio in C Major, K. 548 - Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, (1756-1791)
I. Allegro
II. Andante Cantabile
III. Allegro

Piano Trio No.1 in D minor, Op. 32 - Anton Arensky, (1861-1906)  
I. Allegro moderato                                                              
II. Scherzo: Allegro molto                                                      
III. Elegia: Adagio                                                 
IV. Finale: Allegro non troppo                                

Trio for piano, violin and cello - Gayane Chebotaryan, (1918-1998)
Allegro con brio

Pieces from Gayaneh Ballet - Aram Khachaturian, (1903-1978)
Nune’s Dance
Dance of Nune with Karen

Elixir Piano Trio


Date: Saturday, June 8, 2024

Time: 2:00pm

Location: Brand Library Recital Hall

Join us for an intimate chamber music experience featuring the collaborative talents of Hui Wu - Pianist and Michael Yoshimi - Clarinetist. Chinese-born pianist Hui Wu is recognized for her versatility through a creative approach to programming, stemming from a contemporary/classical music duality. A graduate of The Juilliard School and USC, Hui recently performed with the Bulgarian Symphony Orchestra as a soloist in China and with Raiford Rogers Modern Ballet for the World Premiere of Etudes. Hawaii born clarinetist Michael Yoshimi is an active performer and teacher in the Los Angeles area. Michael has performed and toured with the Los Angeles Philharmonic and also performed with the Pacific Symphony, LA Opera, and Jacksonville Symphony among others. The duo will perform works by Brahms, Poulenc, Glass, and Whittington. In this dynamic presentation, these accomplished artists bring together their individual strengths to create a harmonious dialogue that celebrates the beauty of shared musical expression.



Poulenc Sonata for clarinet and piano, FP 184 (1962)

Philip Glass Metamorphosis for piano (1988)

Blair Whittington Amber for clarinet and piano (2015)

Brahms Sonata for clarinet and piano No. 2 in Eb Major, Op. 120, No.2 (1894)

Hui Wu & Michael Yoshimi

bottom of page